About Abenbury CC

Minutes 12/06/17
June 18, 2017
Minutes 14/09/15
July 20, 2017
Show all

About Abenbury CC

A warm welcome to the Website for Abenbury Community Council. We hope you enjoy looking around and exploring the website. For information about the Council, your local Councillors, what is being or has been discussed, local news and updates please see the separate pages.

Abenbury Community Council came into being in 1972, as a result of the Local Government Act 1972, although it has a much longer history. In 2008, following a Boundary review Abenbury was extended to include properties in the LLwyn Onn area south of Abenbury Road.

Abenbury is a local government community, the lowest tier of local government, part of the Wrexham County Borough in Wales. It is situated south-east of Wrexham town and includes the village of Pentre Maelor and part of the Wrexham Industrial Estate.

The ancient parish of Wrexham included the townships of Abenbury Fawr (or “Big Abenbury”) and Abenbury Fechan (or “Little Abenbury”). The township of Abenbury Fechan was one of several exclaves of Flintshire and was only transferred to Denbighshire in 1884. The historian A. N. Palmer argued that the name Abenbury probably had a compound Welsh and English origin, noting there was a farm called “Coed Aben” in the township.

The civil parish of Abenbury was created in 1935 from parts of the old townships of Abenbury Fawr and Erlas: it was the basis of the community of Abenbury when this was created under the Local Government Act 1972.

At the 2001 census, the community had a population of 718 in 277 households.The majority of residents live in the village of Pentre Maelor, which was originally built in 1947 to house workers from nearby factories. The community also includes a large rural area and the Llwyn Onn estate on the outskirts of Wrexham, all of which are represented by Abenbury Community Council (Welsh: Cyngor Cymuned Abenbury).